Connect
Discover
Impact
Join
Support TTN

Long Island Chapter Special Interest Groups

 

SPECIAL INTEREST GROUPS
 

SIGs are member-driven, which means any valid TTN LI chapter member who wishes to start a group may do so.  SIGs are topic or activity focused, and bring members together who share that special interest.  SIGs are as varied as the organization’s members who think them up. Some examples include book clubs, travel (foreign and domestic), Canasta, Mah Jong and other games, dining out, theatre, movies, walking/hiking, gourmet cooking, crafts, golf, day trips, etc.  Take a look below at the SIGs that currently exist.  Contact a group of your choice that fits in with your schedule to find out if an opening exists or if they have a wait list.  If you find that is not an option, contact Carol I. Levatino, Membership Services Committee Chair at cidermash@me.com with your idea and the Committee will assist you in forming a new group.

 

DAYTIME BOOK CLUBS  

(*=Open)
 

BOOK GALS - 2nd Monday - 12:30-2:30pm - Diane Webster sneakers.mom@verizon.net

COVER TO COVER - 2nd Tuesday – Ruth Weinberg attorneysmom@yahoo.com

LIT 1st  Tuesday – Gloria Wilens --mgwilens@hotmail.com

A NOVEL BUNCH-3rd Tuesday-Diane Garibaldi-diane744@verizon.net

BOOKWORMS – 1st Wednesday – Marcia Kornberg - marciak1021@aol.com

RAVENEOUS READERS – 1st Wednesday – Janice Adelberg- janadel49@aol.com

BOOKMARKS – 2nd Wednesday – Joan Land joanGL51@gmail.com

LITERARY LADIES – 2nd Wednesday – Polly Hammerpolly2@optonline.net

THE BOOKIES – 2nd Wednesday – Wendy Bouchardshalamommy@aol.com

*BRIGHT EYES - 3rd Wednesday 1-3pm - Contact Arline Cazes - DCaz@aol.com

BOOKENDS – 1st Thursday – Susan Ganz sritag@optionline.net

PAGE TURNERS – 3rd Thursday – Shirley Rosenbergsrosen718@aol.com

THURSDAY BOOK LOVERS - 1st Thursday - Ellen Kraut -jak3555@aol.com

A NOVEL APPROACH - 2nd Friday - Linda Alper - lalper3@gmail.com

 

EVENING BOOK CLUBS (*=Open)

None at this time
 

SINGLES ONLY (*=Open)

EVENING

SAVY SINGLES - 3rd Friday PM - Cheryl Rosen cheryl_rosen@yahoo.com OR Fran Antonelli fca318@aol.com

*FRIDAY FRIENDS (Singles Only) - 3rd Friday PM - Contact Barbara Sosne bsosne@hotmail.com OR Robin Kittai teachlongisland@aol.com

 

DAY TRIPS (*=Open)
 

MONDAY ON THE MOVE - 2nd Monday - Janet Gerst cutandpaster@aol.com or Nola Makofsky nmakofsky@gmail.com

TUESDAY ADVENTURERS – 1st Tuesday –Bonnie Sibener- bpdancin@optonline.net  or Geri Gazzo – gerigazzo@gmail.com

U GO GIRLS (UGGS) – 1st Tuesday – Judi Rosenblatt - mrosen1020@aol.com or Mary Modicamarymodica@aol.com

GET TOGETHER TUESDAYS - 1st Tuesday - Nancy Orens nailpolishes99@gail.com or Nancy Castaneda njcasta@optonline.net

TUESDAY TRAVELERS – 2nd Tuesday – Shirley Rosenberg srosen718@aol.com and Marsha Ruback - msr1@optonline.net.

THE CULTURE CLUB (Museums, etc.) – 3rd Tuesday – Maxine Deere – maxdeere@aol.com or Joan Land - joangl51@gmail.com

TERRIFIC TUESDAYS – 4th Tuesday – Cheryl Bloom hdtmom1@aol.com or Mary Ann Scafuri maryannscafuri320@gmail.com

JOYFUL JOURNEYS – 1st Wednesday – Catherine McCormick cathyrnr@optonline.net or Lauren Smith - laurensmith43@yahoo.com

WEDNESDAY WISHES – 1st Wednesday – Vicki Finkelman - geminigrandma0606@gmail.com or Sarina Geschwind - sarinagesch@gmail.com

 GALS ON THE GO (GONG)  – 2nd Wednesday –  Eleanor Kaye - Red8202000@yahoo.com

DELIGHTFUL DAY TRIPPERS (DDs) – 3rd Wednesday – Arlyn Wasserberg – arlynw@optonline.net or Elle Kapito - ekapito@optonline.net

 WEDNESDAY WANDERERS  – 3rd Wednesday – Bonnie Crane labon1@aol.com, Barbara Stein bts23@aol.com

 MUSEUMS A-GO-GO (MAGG)  - 3rd Wednesday - Anne Ostling - aostling2@gmail.com Susie Porsch -susieporschkar@yahoo.com

 *GO-GETTERS  – 4th Wednesday – Debbie Fox vixen1@optonline.net or Joan Gold -fourgolds@aol.com

ETC., ETC. (Variety of Activity) – 4th Wednesday – Ellen Miller ellenerm@aol.com or  Barbara Belkin barbbells@aol.com

ARE WE THERE YET? - 4th Wednesday - Madelyn Fink - mgpc1@aol.com and Joyce Aronin - jta0726@aol.com

SOLE SISTERS- 4th Wednesday-Merrill Weiner-mweinercsw@gmail.com or Helene Karo - hskaro@optonline.net


*STEPPING OUT – 1st Thursday – Janis Amer teachjaa@aol.com or Beverly Freestone -peachezuno@verizon.net

ANYTHING GOES- 2nd Thursday – Patty Mahon – mahonpatty@gmail.com and Carol Knecht – lfkcbs@gmail.com and Rhonda Eisenstadt – rpe711@aol.com

THURSDAY TRIPPERS – 2nd Thursday – Harriet Rabinowitz-hlrab@optonline.net or Carole Ellert - carole_ellert@yahoo.com and Ronnie Hecht - rhecht18@gmail.com

AWAY WE GO 4th Thursday – Claudia Cohenccohenheadz@gmail.com

TREKKERS 4th Thursday – Susan Ganz sritag@optonline.net or Iris Governale - ilgovern@aol.com

THURSDAYS TOGETHER - 3rd Thursday - Karen Schneider chavay@gmail.com OR Judy Dissick jdissick@yahoo.com

THURSDAY TROUPERS - 2nd Thursday -  Judi Summers summerwalk@aol.com OR Joan Land joangl51@gmail.com

*SECOND WIND (Varieity of Activity)* – 1st Friday – Valerie Neufeld - vneufeld1@hotmail.com or Cheryl Garber cher18@optonline.net

FROLICKING FRIDAYS 2nd Friday – Marcia Sander marcia88@aol.com or Ann Weiss - annbetsy@optonline.net

*MUSEE (Museums) - 2nd Friday - Lene Morawski joglski@aol.com or Sheila Rubin asarn18@aol.com

TGIF2nd Friday – Alicia Avnet - kaypee-ttn@msn.com

WILD WEEKEND WOMEN2nd Sunday – Iris Saltzer isaltzer@hotmail.com OR Roz Price ladygat@live.com

*WEEKEND WANDERERS 3rd Sunday –
Lindsey Draves - lpdraves@aol.com
Grace Conti – gzconti@gmail.com

*SUNDAY SOJOURNERS - 4th Sunday - Pat Bertell PMBertell@aol.com OR Ellen Grill ligators@aol.com


 

DAYTIME DINING OUT & GOURMET COOKING (*=Open)

LUNCH BELLES 3rd Monday – Joanne Levy jmlevy@optonline.net or Nancy Eschemuller -

neschemuller@yahoo.com

COOKIES - 2nd Monday - Contact Debbie Fox vixen1@optonline.net or Merrill Weiner mweinercsw@gmail.com

*LET’S EAT (Variety) - 3rd Tuesday - Contact Ellen Breitman ellenbreitman@aol.com

*LUNCHEON LADIES - 4th Thursday -  Fran Cassidy francassidy@optonline.net

LUNCH EXPLORERS 1st Friday – Carolyn Fieldscfieldz@hotmail.com or Dianne Saccone - gsacc1@aol.com

REALLY ELEGANT BABES EATING LUNCH (REBELs) 3rd Friday – Sharyn Camhi sharyn22@verizon.net
 
*CHEF DEMOS-WE DINE - Quarterly - Contact Susan Shapiro ssha387899@aol.com

EVENING DINING OUT & GOURMET COOKING (*=Open)

THE EPICURES – 2nd Monday – Carol I. Levatino cidermash@me.com or Clorinda Cacace - candjc@optonline.net

*EAT AROUND TASTY SPECIALITIES (EATS) 4th Tuesday – Diane Gillespiediane17gill@gmail.com


 

CANASTA (*=Open)

*CANASTA ACES 2nd & 4th Monday –EXPERIENCED ONLY! -Suzanne Sham suestan@verizon.net and Joann Urban - joanndu3@yahoo.com

NORTH SHORE CANASTA - 1st & 3rd Monday - Contact Esther Rosenblum esr5@ymail.com

*
MONDAY MELDERS - 2nd & 4th Monday (Beginners welcome) - Contact Margie Haug basley3.mh@gmail.com

*CANASTA CUTIES - Beginner Group - 4th Wednesday (Noon)- Laurie Fuller - lafmax@aol.com

MELDERS 2nd & 4th Thursday – Joan Hermanjoan.herman3@gmail.com

THURSDAY CANASTA
- 2 Thursdays per month that vary -  Anita Greenhaus agreenhauspt@aol.com
 


MAH JONGG (*=Open)

SUFFOLK COUNTY MAH JONG 1st & 3rd Tuesday – Joan Herman joan.herman3@gmail.com

*THE RACKETTES 3rd Tuesday – Janet Katzin - mallomom@optonline.net
 

SCRABBLE (*=Open)

*THE SCRABBLERS 1st Tuesday –  Janet Katzin - mallomom@optonline.net
 

GOLF(*=Open)
 

GOLF GALS Tuesdays AM - Susan Laufer savypro@optinline.net

NASSAU/SUFFOLK GOLF Fridays – Dianne Kaplan dkaplan119@yahoo.com, Maxine Nagel Mnflower3@gmail.com, Arlene Linzer slinzer@aol.com
 

MEXICAN DOMINOES (*=Open)

DOMINOE LADIES - 3rd Thursday (PM) -  Renee' Amico-Taback ra2taback@aol.com
 

CRAFTING (*=Open)

*CREATIVE CRAFTERS (CCs) 2nd Tuesday –  Judith Franzen - judifran@optonline.net , Linda Alper lalper3@gmail.com

IMAGINE - 2nd Thursday - Ellen Golub-  calicoholly@hotmail.com

HIKING/WALKING (*= OPEN)


WANDERING WOMEN (Walking) – 4th Monday and 1st Thursday – Sue Krinsky sueZQ25348@aol.com

HAPPY TRAILS WEEKENDS (Hiking) Varies – Lindsey Draves lpdraves@aol.com

 

TRAILBLAZERS (Walking) - 1st Wednesday & 3rd Friday - Pat Kelton pknykel@aol.com
 
LITERARY EXPLORATION (*=Open)
 
EVERYTHING SHAKESPEARE - 3rd Tuesday - Susan Kass sbk1984@optonline.net OR Susan Traina susantraina@gmail.com


MOVIES (*=Open)

*MOVIE MAVENS- 4th Thursday - Joyce Aronin - jta0726@aol.com

*MOVIE MATINEES 3rd Thursday – Claudia Cohenccohenheadz@gmail.com

*CINEMA ARTS, ETC. SUFFOLK COUNTY  3rd Friday – Gloria Reeth-Stingley - gloriattn@gmail.com

THEATRE (*=Open)

BROADWAY BABES - 1st Wednesday - Madelyn Fink mgpc1@aol.com or Carol Yablonsky ccab4@verizon.net

DRAMA DIVAS 1st Wednesday – Diane Gillespie diane17gill@gmail.com or Claudia Cohen - ccohenheadz@gmail.com

CURTAINS UP 2nd Wednesday – Susan Wabnikmslegion@optonline.net

BROADWAY PLAYGIRLS3rd Wednesday – Marcia Sander marcia88@aol.com or Beth Bocian - bbocian@gmail.com

BROADWAY BOUND - 3rd Wednesday –Carol Comerford - cjay717@yahoo.com or Pam DeAngelis prd5491@gmail.com or Barbara Gersten artshow222@hotmail.com or Marilyn Pawson mpw325@gmail.com

 CRAZY CRITICS   4th Wednesday – Carol Knecht lfkcbs@gmail.com or Rhonda Eisenstadt - rpe711@aol.com

PLAYBILLS R US - 4th Wednesday - Contact Melissa Berkowitz melissabk@nyc.rr.com or Jeri Gilbert jgilbertphd@gmail.com

TRAVEL (*=Open)

*GLOBAL GALS – 3rd Monday – Barbara Mehlman barbara.mehlman@gmail.com
 

VOCAL/INSTRUMENTAL(*=Open)

*THE CLASSICS - 1st & 3rd Monday - Merrill Weiner mweinercsw@gmail.com